Sheena Veerapen

Language Trainer

Education

University College, London, England
2004 BSc (Hons) Psychology

Career and Experience

Thanks to her initial work experience following university, Sheena Veerapen has an excellent background in analysis and research. She gained experience here in developing projects for policy development in the Department of Health in England and working with large organisations such as the British National Health Service and the OECD. Prior to beginning her teaching career, Sheena also worked in undergraduate lecturing, statistical testing for psychological experiments, conference chairing and conflict resolution workshops with community mediation.

Her most recent projects have been intensive English language training for the HolderMorrin summer academy, as well as one-to-one training of upper level managers and specialised English courses in office communication and for the energy and electricity industry. In addition, she has taught English to French baccalaureate students (and is herself a fluent French speaker), as well as business English for advanced and beginner levels.

Her experience in facilitating, training and teaching in the fields of psychology and statistics, together with her know-how as an English trainer, has given Sheena a good grounding for the further education of both young and adult learners. Furthermore thanks to her background in psychology, Sheena is able to immediately empathise with the groups and individuals she teaches, thus making the teaching experience very harmonious and rewarding for the participants.

Sheena Veerapen

Sprachtrainerin

Ausbildung

University College, London, England
2004 BSc (Hons) Psychology

Berufserfahrung

Sheena Veerapen besitzt ausgeprägte Kenntnisse auf dem Gebiet der Analyse und der Forschung. Für das Gesundheitsministerium in England (Department of Health) war sie nach ihrem Psychologie-Studium in Entwicklungsprojekten des britischen Gesundheitsdienstes (British National Health Service) und der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) tätig. Bevor Sheena als Sprachtrainerin begann, war sie Lehrbeauftragte im Undergraduate-Bereich, führte statistische Überprüfungen von psychologischen Experimenten durch, moderierte auf Konferenzen und leitete Workshops in Konfliktlösung und Mediation.

Für die HolderMorrin Sommerakademie führte sie Intensiv-Englischkurse durch, gab darüber hinaus Einzelcoachings für Führungskräfte und leitete Trainings für die Bürokommunikation sowie für die Energie- und Stromversorgung. Zusätzlich unterrichtete sie Englisch für französische Abiturienten (Sheena spricht selbst fließend Französisch), aber auch Geschäftsenglisch für Anfänger und Fortgeschrittene.

Ihre Erfahrungen einerseits als Englisch-Trainerin und andererseits als Lehrerin auf dem Gebiet der Psychologie und der Statistik bilden Sheenas Basis für die kompetente Weiterbildung von sowohl jungen als auch älteren Teilnehmern. Ihre Fähigkeit, sich unmittelbar auf ihre Teilnehmer einzustellen, verdankt sie nicht zuletzt ihrem psychologischen Hintergrund. Dieser bildet die Basis für ihren harmonischen Unterrichtsstil, der für die Teilnehmer sehr gewinnbringend ist.